Kentucky State University Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes September 4, 2020

Submitted by Danny Collum, Secretary

1. Call to Order

Just after 9 a.m.

2. Approval of Agenda [5 minute time limit]

Agenda was unanimously approved as presented by the president.

3. Approve Meeting minutes from 8/21/2020 [5 minute time limit]

Minutes of the August 21 meeting were unanimously approved as submitted.

4. Faculty Senate President Report [10 minute time limit]

Senator Keeler reported that President Brown has tasked the Green and Gold Commission to collect feedback from students, faculty and staff about the effectiveness of health and safety measures regarding Covid-19. Noted that some students are not following the rules, and there have been some complaints of contractors on campus without masks. On specific questions raised by faculty senators, Keeler was told that faculty should request Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) from the provost's office. There are also free masks available at the guard post at the main entrance to campus. To report witnessed non-compliance he referred to the procedures laid out in the "Breds Back on the Hill" document posted on the school website. Keeler will follow

Committee Chair, Senator Buddhi Gyawali, presented the revised Distance Education Policy for senate approval. He noted that APC worked with Dr. Dailey to clarify some of the language and definitions in the policy statement before approving it. Senator Keeler noted that the Distance Education Policy has now been through the APC twice.

A motion to approve the policy was made and seconded. The Distance Education Policy was approved unanimously.

	<u>2020</u>	<u>2019</u>	<u>2018</u>	<u>2017</u>	<u>2016</u>	<u>2015</u>
New Undergraduate*	579	537	314	320	247	247
New Graduate	37	73	19	51	57	51
Transfer	100	133	99	172	144	113
High School	9	571	340	306	111	62
Others						

Attendees

Senators

Bruce Griffis Danny Collum

Dr. Monica Valentine

Dr. Donavan L. Ramon

Fariba Kashan

Jason Michael Keeler

Gary Stratton

Jens Hannemann

Gavin Washington

Alexander Lai

Helen Smith

Barbara Witty

Johnathon Sharp

Bobby Walter

Leigh Whittinghill

Buddhi Gyawali

Nancy Capriles
Patti Marraccini

Changzheng Wang

Rene Desborde Shawn Lucas

Dr. Phillip Clay

Emmanuel Amadife

Senators Fariba Bigdeli-Jahed and Jennifer Ballard-Kang were excused.

Guests

Debbra Tate

Frederick A. Williams Jr.

HK

Joe Moffett

John Sedlacek

Ken Andries

Kim Sipes

Kirk Pomper

MiMq0.10 g0 G[P)]TJETQq0./F3 12 Tf1 0 0 1 99aD[oms47CW* nBT/F3 12 Tf1 0 0 1 108.02 273.62 Tm0 g0 G[)]TJE